Project Wonderful ad

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Album Review:Unbreakable


Songwriters:Rob Hawkins, Allan Salmon, Ben Glover, Kevin Kadish

Genres:Christian rock, hard rock

Notes:Album art taken from Amazon.

General thoughts:You'd think with all the Christian rock and/or trying-to-be-deeper music I listen to, Fireflight would be right up my alley. But to be honest, it's not.

For a reason I can't quite put my finger on, I don't connect to this the way I connect to say, RED or Skillet. Maybe it's the lyrics. I've heard songs like this a million other places. Maybe it's the lack of variety. There aren't any songs about personal relationships with others or feeling wholly defeated. Maybe the vocals just don't seem great. There's nothing glaringly wrong with it, but I'm just not into it.

So if you're a Christian rock fan, you might like this.

Track Listing

1. Unbreakable
Thoughts:This is the best song here. It's about becoming strong through faith and dealing with negative people.
2. You Gave Me A Promise
Thoughts:This is about having faith and hope through everything. Not too bad.
3. Brand New Day
Thoughts:This is about a day being better than the last. Hmm, okay.
4. The Hunger
Thoughts:This is about needing God but ignoring Him. I kind of like it.
5. Stand Up
Thoughts:This is about being part of a group of broken people. The male vocals in it aren't really that good. Meh.
6. Forever
Thoughts:This is about devotion to God and asking Him to show He loves you. One of the better tracks.
7. Go Ahead
Thoughts:This is about completely giving yourself up and letting God remake you. Not too bad.
8. The Love We Had Before
Thoughts:This is about resolving conflict. Another "meh" reaction.
9. So Help Me God
Thoughts:Here, someone wants to get past flaws and grudges. Decent.
10. Wrapped In Your Arms
Thoughts:This is the closest to mellow the album ever gets. It's about finding peace and comfort in God's embrace. Not too bad a way to end it.

So what was your opinion?

© 2015 by M.R.R.

No comments: