Project Wonderful ad

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Album Review:Until We Have Faces


Songwriters:Mark Holman, Jasen Rauch, Joe Rickard, Anthony Armstrong, Jason McArthur, Todd Nielsen, Mike Seminari, Clint Lowry, Randy Armstrong, Mike Barnes

Genres:Hard rock, metal, Christian rock

Notes:Album art taken from the official site.

General thoughts:Another rock album by a band I love is bound to come up here sooner or later.

Things are presented as bleak here. Sure, there are a couple hopeful tracks, but they're overshadowed by the more painful or dark ones. And as I've said before, angsty rock is not something I'll grow weary of anytime soon. The tone moves from aggressive to pain to what seems like weary acceptance or waiting.

Overall, RED keeps getting better.

Track Listing

1. Feed The Machine
Thoughts:This out of all the songs here contains the most screaming. It's about being in a cycle where you live up to the expectations of those who just use you as another part of the system. Pretty good.
2. Faceless
Thoughts:This is about wanting God to take you back because you can't stop feeling pain without Him. It is a great song and one of my all-time favorites.
3. Lie To Me (Denial)
Thoughts:This is about someone who left you (possibly a lover or a family member) and acts as though they were never loved. It's worthwhile.
4. Let It Burn
Thoughts:I'm not sure what this is about. I'd guess it's about someone trying to hide from their problems while everyone else is in pain. It's a little sad, a little hopeless, and a good song.
5. Buried Beneath
Thoughts:This is about feeling broken and begging someone to save you. Another win.
6. Not Alone
Thoughts:You can probably guess what it's about from the title. Maybe they were trying to make it a little more cheerful in between all the sadness and anger, but this song is nothing special.
7. Watch You Crawl
Thoughts:This is about taking down an enemy (possibly the Devil). Vocally, it's not quite angry, but it's definitely out for blood. Overall, pretty good.
8. The Outside
Thoughts:This is about realizing someone is untrustworthy. Fairly good, but not as good as the last track.
9. Who We Are
Thoughts:This is about a group of people growing more confident after being in pain. Another great addition to the album.
10. Best Is Yet To Come
Thoughts:This is about looking forward to the future even though pain. Not bad, but it doesn't stand out either.
11. Hymn For The Missing
Thoughts:This is the only soft song on the album. It's about wanting someone who left or disappeared to come back. Not a bad ending.

So what was your opinion?

© 2015 by M.R.R.

No comments: