Project Wonderful ad

Friday, February 13, 2015

Album Review:Oh! Gravity


Songwriters:Tim Foreman, Jonathan Foreman, Todd Cooper

Genres:Rock, alternative

Notes:Album art taken from Amazon.

General thoughts:If you've listened to Switchfoot for long, then you know the drill. Introspective rock songs are mixed with a few quieter, emotional tracks.

It's not terrible, but the writing feels weaker than their other albums. It just seems to be continuously repeating the same subject of wanting to live for more, but doesn't present it in a fresh way. Plus, the beat is often not that great.

Overall, it's another "listen once and buy the good stuff" album

Track Listing

1. Oh! Gravity
Thoughts:This is about the fact that we can't seem to hold ourselves or our lives together. It's a good headbanger track.
2. American Dream
Thoughts:This is about success being associated with material gain and wanting something better than the endless cycle we call freedom and winning. Meh, it's mediocre.
3. Dirty Second Hands
Thoughts:This one addresses aging and mortality, and sounds like something you might hear a movie villain or harsh mentor say to the hero. When I feel like thinking about the subject matter, it's good.
4. Awakening
Thoughts:This is about feeling and coming alive. Not too bad.
5. Circles
Thoughts:Here, someone is tired of going through the same routine over and over, wondering if there's more. The lyrics are weak at points, but it's still fairly good.
6. Amateur Lovers
Thoughts:Ever notice how people feel the need to be in relationships and have sex even when it's not a good idea? It could have been great, (in the vein of "Easier Than Love"), but it lacks something.
7. Faust, Midas, And Myself
Thoughts:This is a reminder that riches and treasures aren't all they're cracked up to be. It has a unique style to it that I liked.
8. Head Over Heels (In This Life)
Thoughts:This is a tribute to a romantic partner. It's pretty sweet, and should be a hit with couples.
9. Yesterdays
Thoughts:This mourns a deceased friend. It has an appropriately sad and yet hopeful mood, with allusions to the afterlife. Definitely worth a listen.
10. Burn Out Bright
Thoughts:This is about wanting to live a life that means something. I'm not that into in, plus it feels jarringly fast-paced and loud after the last song.
11. 4:12
Thoughts:This is about wanting to believe we are more than material. Meh.
12. Let Your Love Be Strong
Thoughts:This is a quiet song about God being an island of hope and peace in the ocean of destruction and chaos. It serves as a good ending.

So what was your opinion?

© 2015 by M.R.R.

No comments: