Project Wonderful ad

Monday, March 02, 2015

Album Review For Dubbed & Freq'd:A Remix Project


Songwriters and composers:Cary Barlowe, Toby McKeenhan, Aaron Rice, Jamie Moore, Dave Wyatt, Randy Crawford, Christopher Stevens, Jesse Frasure, Michael Ripoll, Tim Rosenau, Trevor Mcnevan

Genres:Pop, religious

Notes:Album art taken from the official site.

General thoughts:Because of the way he does his music, TobyMac is one of the few artists who actually makes decent remix albums. The majority of the songs sound much more technical than the originals. But a few use less common techniques to give the music a new sound (like a piano start to one track).

Some of the negatives include chipmunk speed vocals. How exactly am I supposed to take that seriously? It also turns some upbeat and fast-paced tracks into something much softer, which rarely ends in a satisfying result.

Overall, it's okay, but not something worth listening to over and over.

Track Listing

1. Made To Love (Telemitry remix)
Thoughts:This gives the track a more dub-step style sound. Decent.
2. No Ordinary Love (G-Man remix)
Thoughts:The song get a lot more pop and technical sounding. Not too bad.
3. Showstopper (Capital Kings remix)
Thoughts:Decent, not a masterpiece (though neither was the original).
4. City On Our Knees (Golden Snax remix)
Thoughts:Still not doing great things here.
5. Tonight (Capital Kings remix)
Thoughts:Notably, this removes John Cooper's vocals. As for the rest of the song, it's rendered rather unevenly and doesn't make that good a listen.
6. Hold On (Telemitry remix)
Thoughts:I would say this is one of the few songs that benefits from the technical sound.
7. Get Back Up (Broke remix)
8. Boomin' (UTB remix)
Thoughts:The lyrics are about blasting out of the stereo, so turning into something that's not the kind of track that you crank up the volume for just doesn't work that well. Had they done it with a different song (like "All In"), it might have.
9. Lose My Soul (Shoc remix)
Thoughts:I wasn't big on the original song, but the piano start does help it.
10. Captured (KP remix)
Thoughts:This is your average remix and neither terrible nor great.
11. Ignition (Hot-Wired remix)
Thoughts:This softens the chorus of a song that lyrically is hard to separate from a loud and energetic song. Could be better.
12. Start Somewhere (X-Zach'd remix)
Thoughts:Even when it doesn't have the chipmunk vocals, the chorus is too fast.

So what was your opinion?

© 2015 by M.R.R.

No comments: