Project Wonderful ad

Monday, March 09, 2015

Album Review:Eye On It


Songwriters and composers:Christopher Stevens, David Garcia, Brandon Heath, Mike Woods, Lecrae Moore, Jamie Moore, Ryan Stevenson, Cary Barlowe, Jesse Frasure, Ryan Edgar

Genres:Pop, religious

Notes:The main album art is from the official site. The deluxe art is from Amazon.

General thoughts:This is not quite like anything TobyMac has done before. It's a lot more pop than his older albums, and the few rock songs here aren't very good. The term "radio friendly" has come up in regards to this release. The strongest points are at soft spiritual tracks like "Steal My Show" or "Forgiveness".

The deluxe edition adds just a few remixes. They're not must-haves, but there are enough good ones that if you find it for a good price, just go ahead and get it.

Overall, it's a decent album, but nothing stunning.

Track Listing

1. Me Without You
Thoughts:This acknowledges that without God, we are lost. It's very much a pop song, and of decent quality.
2. Steal My Show
Thoughts:Christians are told to do everything as though it was for God, be it manual labor, art, or whatever. Enjoyable.
3. Eye On It
Thoughts:This is about chasing down something bigger. Decent, but not amazing.
4. Forgiveness with Lecrae
Thoughts:It's a fact of life that we all screw up. And this soft rap track reminds us of the sweetness that comes with being forgiven. One of the better songs.
5. Speak Life
Thoughts:This is about encouraging people and telling them there's hope. Not bad.
6. Unstoppable with Blanca from Group 1 Crew
Thoughts:With God, nothing is impossible, and He can help you do any good thing. That's the topic of this fast-paced song. It's another "okay-not-great" track.
7. Lose Myself
Thoughts:This one's about being willing to sacrifice everything for God. Fairly good.
8. Family
Thoughts:Despite the upbeat beginning, the song is reflecting on a failing marriage and whether the relationship can be saved. It's not bad.
9. Thankful For You
Thoughts:This expresses gratitude for everything you have, including all the people who have supported you throughout your career. Truthfully, the chorus is a little annoying.
10. Made For Me
Thoughts:This talks about the contrast between McKeenan and his wife, and the fact that they were made for each other. Not the best song.
11. Mac Daddy (Tru's Reality)
Thoughts:And now for Trudog's contribution, this time trying to get money to buy a Mac. It's very technical-sounding, and mostly just a small diversion.
12. Favorite Song with Jamie Grace
Thoughts:This is about memorizing God's love and character like a song. Musically, it's a decent track, but doesn't live up to its title.

Deluxe edition tracks

13. Me Without You (Capital Kings remix)
Thoughts:This is a fairly good one, since it removes the annoying "you-oo-oo-oo-oo" from the chorus for the most part.
14. Steal My Show (Jack Shocklee remix)
Thoughts:Not too different from the original, but it's not bad.
15. Lose Myself (Capital Kings remix)
Thoughts:Ditto. It's a little long, though.
16. Family (Jamie Moore remix)
Thoughts:This one actually makes the sound a little sadder, which is more fitting for the subject matter. An improvement.
17. LoudNClear Tru (Telemitry remix)
Thoughts:This is the only remix of a song from another album. Decent, nothing special.
18. Me Without You (Telemitry remix)
Thoughts:Remember how I said the other "Me Without You" remix got rid of the irritating part of chorus? Yeah, this just overemphasizes it.

So what was your opinion?

© 2015 by M.R.R.

1 comment:

Robyn Proctor Hinkle said...

I have yet to hear this album, but I've heard his other albums. My husband is a big fan of his music, so I hear it quite a bit!